top of page

mental health.

what's going on inside that beautiful mind?

as you know, my artistry is an advocate of its own for mental health.

i have wrestled with my mind and mental health for many moments, days, years, and i want to use my voice to let you know a couple truths here:

1. if you are an artist who experiences depression or any mental illness, removing the darkness or the illness will not remove your ability to create. stop believing you have to be a martyr for the world. i believe in heaven and the spiritual world, and the God who radiates light and love and the absence of pain and darkness has been and remains the ultimate Creative One. i like to think that our gifts, our art, is our light, and those are vessels into heaven. they stand out more sometimes in darker seasons because there the contrast is stronger. our art is sometimes our saving grace in those moments, but it's only a light on the walls begging us to follow into our real destiny (which is not to remain in darkness).

2. you do not bring shame to yourself, your life, or heaven when you intentionally seek care. i believe God is the healing hand through everything, and while sometimes He will come and part the seas for you, other times He may create incredible humans with intelligent minds to develop medicines and treatments. healing is healing. if you had any other physical illness or area of your body that needed care, you most likely would receive care without shame or hesitation.

3. define your support systems. i have medical professionals who have been a support to me in ways that they specifically are trained and certified in. i have sisterhoods of women who know my insides and outs and can distract me, cry with me, laugh with me, and celebrate victories with me by my side. i have faith and spiritual mentors who speak truth into my life, pour into my heart on its most tired and 'defeated' days (i'm a victor. no defeat was ever ultimate), and pray with me. i don't think i would ask spiritual support or direction from a medical clinician, nor official psychological facts and analysis from a neighbor or friend. i think it's important to recognize your most prevailing need in the moment, and then recognize which link of support is best suited to help walk you through that space.

in my songs ...

my song august is an autobiographical story of dealing with unhealthy, abusive relationships, and the lowered self-esteem and self-destructive behavior that can take root from those things. this song is about a journey of finding a support system and realizing your identity and worth.

my song small is an anthem for young women. as a girl, i was told to keep quiet, and was often criticized for my desire to learn and constantly read. i wrote this song to my younger self, empowering her and telling her to be herself, and not take to heart the people who critique or judge someone who doesn't fit the "molds." representation and inclusion are vital pillars in the kingdom of happy hearts and happy minds on earth.

my song wherever you are is actually a song i wrote about someone i love, very close to me, who was having a bad day, which turned into a bad month, etc, and i refused to let this person feel "damaged" or alone in the fight. i wrote this song because it's a reminder that we all can have seasons or days of depression, anxiety, or insecurity; it's not specific to one gender, and neither is being "emotional" in general.

i have something very new in the works **spoiler** and i can't waaaaiiiittt to share soon.

here are some resources i also wanted to share:

1-800-272-8255 = the national suicide hotline

sharing this because there is no shame in advocating for yourself and your life and well being.

NAPSA feature "reclaiming and naming my self care as a feminist" by janicanne shane

a great article by a great mentor and inspiration to me.

Philippians 4:8 MSG

"Summing it all up, friends, I'd say you'll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious - the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse."

Psalm 139:13-16

"Body and soul, I am marvelously made!"

(you are.)

GM

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page